# COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT REORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES DECEMBER 4, 2012 - 6:00 PM 9/10 CENTER AUDITORIUM

#### **District Mission Statement**

The Mission of the Coatesville Area School District, a learning community rich in diversity and committed to excellence, is to educate all students by providing rigorous educational opportunities to become responsible, productive, life-long learners in a global society.

### 1. CALL TO ORDER AT 6:09 A.M.

### 2. <u>ADVISEMENT</u>

This meeting was called for the reorganization of the School Board under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania as amended. Public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. By notice of the Board Secretary, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes.

# 3. ROLL CALL

#### **Board of School Directors**

J. Neil Campbell, President-present (Operations Committee)
Richard M. Ritter, Vice-President-present (Finance Committee)

Diane M. Brownfield-present (Education & Community & Student Relations Committees)

Joseph E. Dunn, Jr.-present (Finance & Operations Committees)

James L. Fox-absent (Education & Community & Student Relations Committees)

(Mr. Fox called in his Roll Call Vote for President & Vice President)

Paul L. Johnson-present (Operations Committee)

Laurie C. Knecht-present (Operations Committee)

William A. Sweigart-present (Finance & Education Committees)

Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor-present (Finance & Community & Student Relations Committees)

#### Administration

Richard W. Como, Superintendent of Schools-present

Dr. Angelo Romaniello, Jr., Assistant Superintendent / Board Secretary-present

Dave Krakower, Director of High School Education / Special Education (6-12) -present

Jonette Marcus, Director of Elementary Education / Special Education (K -2)-absent

Jason Palaia, Director of Elementary Education / Special Education (3-5)-absent

Dr. Teresa Powell, Director of Middle School Education-absent

John Reid, Director of Pupil Services / Data Assessment-absent

Karen DeShullo, Director of Business Administration-present

Abdallah Hawa, Director of Technology-present

Erika Zeigler, Director of Human Resources-present

### Solicitor

James E. Ellison, Esquire – absent (Sean Lochinger was present for Attorney James Ellison)

# 4. MOMENT OF SILENCE AND FLAG SALUTE

### 5. SCHOOL BOARD REORGANIZATION (Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary)

### Reading of the List of Legally Elected and/or Qualified School Directors:

**<u>Region I</u>** (Coatesville, Valley) Diane M. Brownfield

Paul L. Johnson

Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor

**Region II** (West Brandywine, Caln) J. Neil Campbell

Joseph E. Dunn, Jr. Richard M. Ritter

Region III (East Fallowfield, Modena, James L. Fox

Sadsbury, West Caln, Laurie C. Knecht South Coatesville) William A. Sweigart

### 6. SWEARING IN OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS

# 7. REVIEW of VOTING PROCEDURES by the SOLICITOR (Shawn Lochinger, Acting Solicitor)

Attorney Shawn Lochinger reviewed the voting procedures.

# 8. <u>ELECTION OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT</u>

Nominations were entertained for election of a temporary president.

Neil Campbell nominated Paul Johnson for Temporary President.

A motion was made by Neil Campbell that the nominations for a Temporary President be closed. On a unanimous roll call vote, the nominations were closed.

Joe Dunn moved and seconded by Laurie Knecht that Paul Johnson be elected as Temporary President. On a unanimous roll call vote, Mr. Johnson took the chair.

# 9. <u>ELECTION OF OFFICERS</u>

### A. <u>PRESIDENT</u>

Temporary President Johnson asked for nominations for President for the year 2013.

#### **Nominations for President:**

Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor nominated Neil Campbell for President.

Diane Brownfield nominated Joe Dunn for President.

A motion was made by Paul Johnson and seconded by Neil Campbell that the nominations for President be closed. On a unanimous roll call vote, the nominations were closed.

### **Roll Call Vote:**

On a roll call vote each Board Member named the individual voted for as President. On an 8-1 roll call vote, Mr. Campbell was reelected as Board President for 2013.

Temporary President Johnson relinquished the Chair to President Campbell.

# B. <u>VICE PRESIDENT</u>

President Campbell asked for nominations for Vice President for the year 2013.

### **Nominations for Vice President:**

Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor nominated Rick Ritter for Vice President.

A motion was made by Neil Campbell and seconded by Joe Dunn that the nominations for Vice President be closed. On a unanimous roll call vote, the nominations were closed.

Neil Campbell moved and seconded by Laurie Knecht that Rick Ritter be elected as Vice President for 2013. On a unanimous roll call vote, Mr. Ritter became the Vice President for 2013.

### 10. REMARKS BY THE NEW PRESIDENT AND VICE-PRESIDENT

### 11. REMARKS BY THE PAST PRESIDENT AND VICE-PRESIDENT

Brief comments were made by Neil Campbell and Rick Ritter as they look forward to the upcoming year.

# 12. PUBLIC BOARD MEETING DATES

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors approves the Public School Board Meetings for 2013 be advertised as per the attachment. (*Enclosure*)

In accordance with School Board Policy #006, adopted September 27, 2001 and revised on May 23, 2002 and October 19, 2004, all Board Members and the District Superintendent shall be advised of the dates and times for the scheduled public Committee and Board meetings.

All School Board meetings will begin at 7:00 p.m. in the 9/10 Center Auditorium on the following dates:

January 22<sup>nd</sup> August 27<sup>th</sup>
February 26<sup>th</sup> September 24<sup>th</sup>
March 26<sup>th</sup> October 22<sup>nd</sup>
April 23<sup>rd</sup> November 26<sup>th</sup>
May 28<sup>th</sup> December 3<sup>rd</sup> Reorganization (6:00

June 25<sup>th</sup> p.m.) (Board meeting immediately
July – no meeting following Reorganization meeting)

All committees will meet on a rotational basis with meetings beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the 9/10 Center Auditorium on the following dates:

January 15<sup>th</sup>
February 12<sup>th</sup>
March 12<sup>th</sup>
April 9<sup>th</sup>
May 14<sup>th</sup>
July – No meeting
August 13<sup>th</sup>
September 10<sup>th</sup>
October 8<sup>th</sup>
November 12<sup>th</sup>

June 11<sup>th</sup> December – No meeting

### 13. COMMITTEES

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors approves the committees as follows:

Community and Student Relations Education Finance and Personnel Operations

# 14. <u>BOARD PRESIDENT'S REPORT</u>

# 15. PUBLIC COMMENT

The Board has requested all persons making comments of public concern to list their name, address, telephone number and topic(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute time limit per person.

None

Reorganization Meeting Minutes December 4, 2012 Page 5 of 5

# 16. ADJOURNMENT

This meeting was adjourned at 6:22 p.m. on a motion by Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor and seconded by Diane Brownfield.

Respectfully submitted, Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary

Dr. Angelo Romaniello, Jr., School Board Secretary

Copies of the minutes will be maintained in the Office of the Board Secretary.

Notice of this public meeting was advertised in the Daily Local News on January 22, 2012 and on the District Website.